Frilly Fossils

50 day art journal challenge & a peculiar cafe

prompt:

construct a journal page around the last time you traveled.

my day #14:

happy monday afternoon everyone!  I hope that you all are having a fantastic day.  I know that monday isn’t the easiest of days, but does it really have to be that way?

my day #14 page was inspired a few things.  I drew a picture of a house because I am currently trying to find my own place (as it is, I’m living with my grandparents).  the rain symbolizes how much I miss Ben while he’s attending school in Houston.  of course, the flower is sprouting because of the rain, which is a symbol of love growing stronger through the hard times.

as always, I would absolutely love to see what you guys are coming up with.  art is a beautiful thing, and I know that this journal has challenged me to think outside the box many times.  I hope that it is doing the same for you all.

prompt list:

#1 – take a minute to connect with your feelings.  close your eyes and imagine what your feelings would look like, and then draw or paint them.

#2 – grab your favorite novel and randomly open it to any page.  read the first paragraph on that page and illustrate it.

#3 – remember in high school when you’d doodle on your notes?  just doodle until you fill an entire page.

#4 – look outside and let the weather and your surroundings inspire your next art journal page.

#5 – pick an object in your house.  while looking only at the object, put your pen or pencil

#6 – find a beautiful picture in a magazine, cut it out, and make that the center of your art journal page.

#7 – fill a blank page with shapes.  paint or color them in.

#8 – imagine your inner critic as a monster.  draw or paint him/her.

#9 – pick a quote and design an art journal page around it.

#10 – write down five of your core beliefs.  pick one and illustrate it.

#11 – journal about things that you love.

#12 – what’s your favorite fairy tale?  draw or paint your favorite scene.

#13 – think about someone who inspires you.  what characteristics of that person make him/her so inspirational?  use those characteristics to inspire your journal page.

#14 – live in the moment.  journal about whatever is on your mind.

to conclude this post, I have a little surprise for you.  I received some pictures from my dear Benjamin in Houston, and I do think they are very much worth sharing.  enjoy!

this is a little place called the hobbit cafe.  Ben told me that it’s a small bar filled with all kinds of lord of the rings memorabilia.  how hilarious is that??

and, of course, no bar is complete without their menu.  the sandwich options are as follows:

  • Gandalf
  • Smaug’s Delight
  • Dwalin
  • Bilbo the Magnificent
  • Fatty Lumpkin
  • With Windle
  • Far Down
  • Strider
  • Frodo
  • Thorin Oakenshield
  • Turkey BLT
  • Shire

I love how the only normal sandwich option on there is a “turkey BLT.”  and now, to finish, Ben ordered himself some “Shire Nachos.”

I hope this has added a little light to your monday.  it certainly brightened mine!

xoxo

alexis

This entry was published on January 23, 2012 at 9:36 pm. It’s filed under 50 Day Art Journal, news from ben and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

