Frilly Fossils

A Sweet & Salty Valentine’s Day Snack

Planning a Valentine’s Day party?  The most important part of any party, next to fun of course, is food.  I sat for a while this week trying to come up with good consumable ideas for a Love Day part, and I must admit I only came up with a few good ideas.  However, one thought did strike me that I found absolutely brilliant.  Whenever I’m planning food for a party I tend to only be capable of making up the most expensive and time consuming dishes to be served.  This time, I came  up with something totally different from my normal over-the-top ideas.  Chocolate covered pretzels.  Let’s be honest, who doesn’t love chocolate covered pretzels?  I can’t name one person who has come up to me and said “I hate chocolate covered pretzels, and if you ever made them for me I would throw them on the ground and stomp on them before ever letting them enter my mouth.”  I mean…come on…that stuff just doesn’t happen.  Kind of like that thing on Shrek when Donkey was talking about parfaits.  But anyways, this recipe is fairly simple.  You only need a few ingredients and the steps are extremely easy.

Ingredients and supplies needed:

  • white chocolate (almond bark or molding chocolate)
  • mini pretzels
  • red food coloring
  • a microwave
  • a cookie sheet
  • two bowls
  • a fork
  • **optional** Valentine’s Day sprinkles

Steps:

  1. Split the chocolate into two bowls, and microwave them separately according to the instructions on the package.
  2. Add one drop of red food coloring to one of the bowls to create a soft pink color.
  3. Dip the pretzels into the chocolate and place them onto the cookie sheet to dry.  I used a fork for this step to fish the pretzels out of the melted chocolate.
  4. **optional** Add sprinkles to the pretzels while they are still wet.
  5. Allow at least five minutes to dry, and then you can serve, eat, or store them however you like!  They make a pretty addition to your Valentine’s Day treat table!

See?  Simple, yet effective.  I’ve already gone through at least a dozen of these little buggers.  They’re just so darn good!

Much love,

Alexis

This entry was published on February 9, 2012 at 6:34 am. It’s filed under Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

